Isle of Wight Council Members

General Information

The Isle of Wight Council was created in 1995 as a unitary or all-purpose authority, responsible for virtually all local government activities on the Island. It replaced the former Isle of Wight County Council and the two borough councils of Medina and South Wight. In addition to the Isle of Wight Council there are 33 town and parish councils, which cover the whole Island. These look after a variety of local issues such as some recreation grounds, some amenity grass cutting and many operate other facilities in their areas.

The Isle of Wight Council has 40 elected councillors. The current political make-up is:

  • 25 Conservative
  • 9 Independent
  • 4 Liberal Democrat
  • 1 Labour
  • 1 Other

Correct as of: 15:40 20/11/2012

To find out more about each councillor, view our Who's Who guide (pdf) or individual member pages are available
by name or by region . The full Council normally meets in the months of May, June, July, September, October, November, January, February and April in the Council Chamber at County Hall, Newport.

There are also a number of other panels, boards, partnerships and groups on which councillors are represented. In addition councillors serve on numerous outside bodies, including the Hampshire Police Authority (based in Winchester) which is responsible for the policing of both Hampshire and the Isle of Wight. At the annual meeting of the Council (usually in May in each year) a number of appointments are made to various offices.