THE CALL IN PERIOD FOR THIS DECISION EXPIRES AT 5.00 PM ON WEDNESDAY, 25 APRIL 2007. THE DECISION CANNOT BE IMPLEMENTED UNTIL AFTER THAT DATE.

RECORD OF DECISION TAKEN UNDER DELEGATED POWERS AT COUNTY HALL, NEWPORT, ISLE OF WIGHT ON WEDNESDAY, 18 APRIL 2007

Present : Cllr A Sutton, Leader of the Isle of Wight Council

Miss A Lisseter, Committee Services

Item	Appointment of Cabinet, Responsibilities and Delegations
Decision reference	07/07
Decision taken	i. That the establishment of a Cabinet of 9 members in addition to the Leader of the Council be confirmed
	ii. That the following Councillors be appointed to the Cabinet with the following titles:
	Councillor Patrick Joyce as Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Schools Leadership and Governance
	Councillor Barry Abraham as Cabinet Member for Resources
	Councillor Melanie Swan as Cabinet Member for Children's Services
	Councillor Dawn Cousins as Cabinet Member for Health, Wellbeing and Supporting People
	Councillor Tim Hunter-Henderson as Cabinet Member for the Environment and Transport
	Councillor Jilly Wood as Cabinet Member for Customers and Parish Empowerment
	Councillor Ian Ward as Cabinet Member for Safer Communities and Fire Modernisation
	Councillor George Brown as Cabinet Member for Economy, Tourism, Assets and Planning
	Councillor David Pugh as Cabinet Member for Regeneration, Leisure and Communications
	iii. That the responsibilities of the above Cabinet Members be as set out at Appendix A of the report.

Reasons for decision	 To enable the Council to achieve the following corporate objectives: Sustainable regeneration and development of the Island. Improving the health and well-being of Island communities. Creating safer and stronger communities. Improving outcomes for children and young people. Being a high-performing, cost effective council.
Additional reasons	None
Options considered and rejected	None
Declarations of interest	None declared.
Additional advice received	None.