

Director of Corporate Services and Monitoring Officer **Davina Fiore** 

County Hall, Newport, Isle of Wight PO30 1UD Telephone (01983) 821000

# Agenda

Name of meeting FULL COUNCIL

Date WEDNESDAY, 28 OCTOBER 2009

Time **6.00 PM** 

Venue COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, NEWPORT, ISLE OF

**WIGHT** 

Members of the Committee

All Members of the Council

Committee Administrator: Julie Martin, telephone 823281

Email julie.martin@iow.gov.uk

PRAYERS led by the Revd Howard Cunnington.

#### 1. Minutes

To approve as a correct record and to sign the Minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 30 September 2009. (Paper A)

#### 2. **Declarations of Interest**

To invite Members to declare any interest they might have in the matters on the agenda.

3. To deal with any questions from members of the public.

Questions may be asked without notice but to guarantee a full reply at the meeting, the question must be delivered in writing or by electronic mail to Committee Services no later than 6.00 pm on Monday, 26 October 2009.

4. <u>Chairman's report, official announcements, communications and correspondence for the Council.</u>



Details of this and other Council committee meetings can be viewed on the Isle of Wight Council's website at <a href="http://www.iwight.com/council/meetings/meetings.asp">http://www.iwight.com/council/meetings/meetings.asp</a>. This information may be available in alternative formats on request. Please contact Julie Martin, telephone 823281 for details.

#### 5. Items deferred from the last meeting:

(a) Motion submitted under procedure rule 10 by Cllr Lumley:

The Council resolves to sign up to the 10:10 campaign, committing itself to cutting the Council's carbon emissions by 10% by the end of 2010.

We also encourage Island residents, businesses and organisations to do the same.

(b) Constitutional Matters and Outside Bodies:

To consider proposed constitutional changes and appointments to outside bodies. (Paper B)

### 6. Ethical Standards Committee

Following an informal interview with Cllrs Scoccia and Humby and the Monitoring Officer and a Deputy Monitoring Officer, the following are recommended for appointment as independent members for the time specified, as from 1 November 2009:

- (a) Capt. Charles Anthony Brindle 2 years
- (b) Mr Peter Tautz. 2 Years
- (c) Mrs Elizabeth (Liz) McKenzie 4 years
- (d) Mr Raymond Smith 4 years
- (e) Mr Keith Fagan 4 years
- (f) Mr George Hibberd 4 years
- (g) Mr Mark Southwell 4 years

And that Mr Mark Southwell be confirmed as chairman of the committee for the remainder of the municipal year.

(The CV's in respect of these appointees are available for elected members only upon request to the Head of Democratic Services)

## 7. <u>Audit Committee</u>

Following an informal interview with Councillor Roger Mazillius, Chairman of the Audit Committee, the Director of Resources and the Head of Compliance and Procurement, the following is recommended for appointment as a co-opted non-voting member for the time specified as from 1 November 2009:

Mr Garry Smith – 2 years.

(The CV in respect of the appointee is available for elected members only upon request to the Head of Democratic Services)

#### 8. CABINET:

Cabinet Members and the Chairman of Scrutiny to present a written report, and answer written and oral questions on budget or policy:

- (i) Leader and Cabinet Member for Governance and School Improvement (Cllr David Pugh)
- (ii) Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Economy, Tourism, Leisure and Planning (Cllr George Brown)
- (iii) Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Cllr Vanessa Churchman)
- (iv) Cabinet Member for Children, Social Care, Health and Housing (Cllr Dawn Cousins)
- (v) Cabinet Member for Environment and Transport (Cllr Edward Giles)
- (vi) Cabinet Member for Fire and Community Safety (Cllr Barry Abraham)
- (vii) Cabinet Member for Major Projects, Customer Service and Communications (Cllr Tim Hunter-Henderson)
- (viii) Cabinet Member for Resources (Cllr Peter Bingham)

To guarantee a full reply Members must submit a question in writing or by electronic mail to Committee Services no later than 6.00 pm on Tuesday, 27 October 2009. A further period of 10 Minutes will be allowed for oral questions to each Cabinet Member.

DAVINA FIORE
Director of Corporate Services and Monitoring Officer
20 October 2009