

Director of Legal and Democratic Services and Monitoring Officer **Davina Fiore**

County Hall, Newport, Isle of Wight PO30 1UD Telephone (01983) 821000

Agenda

Name of meeting

FULL COUNCIL

Date

Time

6.00 PM

Venue

Members of the Committee

COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, NEWPORT, ISLE OF WIGHT

All Members of the Council

WEDNESDAY, 18 JUNE 2008

Committee Administrator: Amanda Thomas, telephone 823071 email mandy.thomas@iow.gov.uk

PRAYERS led by the Revd Canon Stephen Palmer

- 1. To approve as a correct record and to sign the Minutes of the meeting of the Council held on <u>21 May 2008</u>. (Paper A)
- 2. <u>Declarations of Interest</u>

To invite Members to declare any interest they might have in the matters on the agenda.

3. To deal with any questions from members of the public.

Questions may be asked without notice but to guarantee a full reply at the meeting, the question must be delivered in writing or by electronic mail to Committee Services no later than 6.00 pm on Monday, 16 June 2008.

- 4. Chairman's report, official announcements, communications and correspondence for the Council.
- 5. ETHICAL STANDARDS COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2007-2008

To receive and consider the Annual Report of the Ethical Standards Committee. (Paper B)



6. <u>CABINET</u>:

- (a) To consider the recommendation from Cabinet following the meeting held on 17 June 2008, regarding the Island's Economic Strategy.
 - (i) THAT the Economic Strategy be adopted and further work be undertaken to develop an Action Plan to deliver the Strategy.

A copy of the Cabinet Report is attached for information. (<u>Paper C</u>)

- (b) Cabinet Members and the Chairman of Scrutiny to present a written report, and answer written and oral questions on budget or policy:
 - (i) The Leader of the Council (Cllr David Pugh)
 - (ii) Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Economy, Leisure, Planning and Property (Cllr George Brown)
 - (iii) Cabinet Member for Children and Young People (Cllr Alan Wells)
 - (iv) Cabinet Member for Environment and Transport (Cllr Tim Hunter-Henderson)
 - (v) Chair of Scrutiny (Cllr Muriel Miller)
 - (vi) Cabinet Member for Health, Housing and Community Wellbeing (Cllr Dawn Cousins)
 - (vii) Cabinet Member for Residents, Resources and the Fire Service (Cllr Barry Abraham)
 - (viii) Cabinet Member for Safer Communities (Cllr Diana Tuson JP)

To guarantee a full reply Members must submit a question in writing or by electronic mail to Committee Services no later than 6.00 pm on Tuesday, 17 June 2008. A further period of 10 Minutes will be allowed for oral questions on budget or policy to each Cabinet Member.

Upon completion of the meeting, the Chairman would like to invite all elected Members to join him for refreshments in the Chairman's Room to celebrate his 80th birthday.

DAVINA FIORE Director of Legal and Democratic Services and Monitoring Officer 10 June 2008